Zoom G5

Image

The Zoom G5 is a unique modeling multi-effects pedal.  Its packaging boasting the phrase, “The Answer,” the G5’s interface strives to combine the interface of a traditional stombox with the processing power of a digital multi-effects processor.  The concept of this pedal is a major jump in the right direction for multi-effects, but Zoom’s execution has several issues that leaves me with a bad taste in my mouth…

Firstly, the Features that make this such an attractive pedal…

  • 145 Amp Models and Effects
  • A unique interface, with a very analog feel
  • The ability to use up to 9 effects and amp models simultaneously
  • An integrated looper
  • A USB output for recording
  • A linear tube boost
  • Stereo Unbalanced outpus
  • A “Z-Pedal” expression pedal
  • An XLR for direct recording

My experience

I ordered this pedal as a birthday present to myself from Musician’s Friend.  It only cost $299.99, and it came within a few days.  My amp had been in the shop for weeks, so I only got to try it out with headphones at first.  It sounded good.  The amp models were realistic, and the effects reacted naturally to my playing.  But then I clicked on the tube booster, and I was greeted with crackling.  The left channel cut out, and I could only hear out of the right side of my headphones. I turned the pedal on and off, and the channel worked just fine.

I assumed my headphones were to blame, and I set it up in my practice space, where it sat for a week untouched while I was busy with shows and class.  Finally, I had practice with my 90’s cover band (the reason I bought the pedal), and I clicked on the tube boost again…the sound cut out.  I was able to make the sound cut in and out by tapping on the pedal, and when I used the expression pedal there was loud crackling.

After discovering that my pedal was defective, I decided to do some sleuthing on the inter-webs.  I discovered that many people have had issues with the switches, and even more have had issues with the tube boost.  According to some sources, entire runs of the G5 were shipped improperly calibrated, and the tube boost sounded gritty and terrible.  This issue is reportedly easily solved by adjusting some internal trim-pots, but for me the issue was more mechanical (bad connections in the pedal)

I called Musician’s Friend, and apparently they have had so many returns that they offered to discount the pedal so I would keep it.  I declined this offer, and it is currently being shipped back for a full refund.

Buyer Beware

This pedal is truly innovative, but it’s build quality and reliability are pathetic.  It’s housed in a sturdy aluminum case, but it’s switches are “toyish,” and many people receive them broken out of the box.  From what I’ve read in the forums, this pedal has a terrible track record of reliability, and my pedal came broken brand new.  I’ve always liked Zoom pedals, I had a little cheap one when I was first learning guitar, and I always thought it sounded great.

The Zoom G5 is unreliable, and I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone.

Leave a comment